2013: The year I turned 30.

Cambodian hospital selfie!
Cambodian hospital selfie!

In the last year of my twenties, I’ve learned a slew of new life lessons, had a lot of lows with myself and friends, been depressed, extremely confused and almost deathly ill in a developing country, losing about 15 pounds. Yet, I’ve also been super happy, traveled halfway around the world, visited five new countries and learned what I like and don’t like about the constant moving. I’ve made discoveries in my health, created a plan for my debt, and opened up to a long-term relationship after four years of (purposely) being single.

reoccurring theme in my recent posts is overcoming the fear of doing things alone. I briefly mentioned in my “Planets post how some personal challenges have taught me so many good things about myself and others. Now I appreciate people in my life for who they are, not expect more… and family is that much more important. I have also FINALLY left the country and traveled solo a bit (future blog posts to come on my adventures in Asia!) and I know now that I can travel alone if I want. It’s such a freeing feeling to know how easy it is to explore a foreign country.

Top of the Lebua Hotel in Bangkok. Rooftop bar and scene in Hangover 2

I have also paid more attention to my health the past couple years. My interest in organic living was jump started by this online health coaching course I looked into. I changed my diet to mostly raw food (smoothies, unique salads, uncooked veggies), l learned how to keep my energy up, and more important, I figured out that I am lactose intolerant! Eliminating dairy is WAY easier than I thought and I’m no longer uncomfortably covering up my digestive issues! I honestly thought bloating and gas were just normal, Italian problems. 😉

I realize that I’m a bit stuck in between being a care-free twenty-something and a settled-down thirty-something and it messes with me. The challenge will always be balance. For now, I still work in restaurants which give me easy money so that I can make moves when I’m ready.

Baz Luhrmann once said,

“Don’t feel guilty if you don’t know what you want to do with your life…the most interesting people I know didn’t know at 22 what they wanted to do with their lives. Some of the most interesting 40 year olds I know still don’t.”

I may not have a career path just yet, but, hey, at least I’ll be interesting. 

Floating down a Thai river on a bamboo raft
Floating down a Thai river on a bamboo raft
One thought on “2013: The year I turned 30.

Leave a Reply

