Planets and the year I learned a ton about life

Recently, two separate, spiritual/yogi-type friends have informed me about Saturn Return. To anyone else, at any other time, this information would be just horoscope hubbub. To me, it not only made sense and fit my life, it also came at an eerily perfect time.

“I’ll be 29 in two weeks. No, I don’t know what I’m doing this winter…” are sentences that have left my lips in the past month more times than I can count. Since I quit my job to work seasonally (winters in a warm locale and summers in a touristy U.S. beach town), where I work and live can change every time. Unless you plan to return to the same spot each season, being jobless, homeless and clueless about where you’ll be spending the next six months, isn’t so abnormal in this lifestyle. The beauty of working in a restaurant (or being a surf instructor, yoga teacher or a tutor, etc) is you your skills are mobile…and you can bank tons of cash in peak seasons to support you or travel with in the off seasons. You also pay rent as you go.

People with this travel lifestyle don’t necessarily have it all together. More specifically, I don’t. I’ve been through times recently where I’ve never been more scared. I’ve also never been happier. Everyone I meet in this “mobile” life is either 22 or traveling since they were 22. I’m a lot older than the average joe around here and chasing summer is all new to me…  It’s only my 1.5 year anniversary of leaving my old life behind. Up until now it’s been equally amazing and horrifying. It took moving, living and doing everything with a best friend to get my ass out of a depressing rut. And gaining, then losing a few friends and lovers to make me realize my flaws…the biggest one? Independence. Being independent seems like an easy thing, but for a girl from a huge family, with a handful of siblings and a good network of friends, (and being a libra), I rarely was alone and definitely avoided it.

Learning solitary (and learning from it) is the biggest challenge and opportunity I have ever faced… But, finally, my experiences have made me ready for it.

So, what’s your point, Gina? What is Saturn Return? OK, back to the planet story. Whenever I tell my “what’s potentially next in life” schpeel followed by my age, I cringe a little, expecting the person on the receiving end to make a judgmental comment like, “yikes, you’re almost 30?….” But, these yogi friends of mine, they got excited for me and continued on to explain this astrological phenomenon. It takes Saturn 29 years to travel around the sun, through all the zodiac signs and return to the exact spot it was when you were born. As quoted by Wikipedia, every 29 years, a person crosses over a major threshold and enters the next stage of life. With the first Saturn return, a person leaves youth behind and enters adulthood. They tend to discard old baggage to make room for new challenges and all the skills and experiences they’ve acquired thus far gets put to the test-so to speak.

How can you not be excited to hear that?! Maybe I’m a nerd and maybe you don’t believe. But everything I’ve read pertaining to me, my sign, my destiny, etc, has been spot-on. It also tells me what people have screamed into my ears my whole adult life: “Get out there (wherever ‘there’ is) and be alone”.

I believe that every single person I’ve met and every opportunity I’ve seized over the past couple years, has brought me out of the dependent cloud I was in and exactly where I was supposed to be. Like Paulo Coelho says in The Alchemist, “when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it”. Currently, I’m planning a backpacking trip abroad in the winter- including a home stay on a farm, where I’d work, volunteer and/or pay something like $16/day in exchange for accommodation, food, yoga, and other local things.

I’ve never been more excited in my life.

Bring it on, Saturn!

Beach strolling in Montauk. Summer '12
Beach strolling in Montauk. Summer ’12
7 thoughts on “Planets and the year I learned a ton about life

  1. Gina, I love this! I didn’t know that you are a libra! I love libras! 🙂 I think that this sounds wonderful! I just wanted to stop and let you know that! I hope that you find your way and experience your journey more than ever with your new insight!

    xoxo Leah

    Like

  2. Wow, you finally heard everyone. And realizing for yourself, which is what you needed to do all along, has brought out some of the best writing I’ve heard from you in awhile. I’m so proud of you for just letting go- you rock and I knew you’d believe in yourself one day! I totally believe in the Saturn Return, and I’m looking forward to 58, lol! Love you Gina!

    Like

  3. “Emancipate yourself from mental slavery, none but ourselves can free our mind.” Stay gold G, this new clarity is really good for you. It will keep your mind sharp, your heart adventurous and your soul wise.

    ~MD

    Like

  4. Good stuff Gina. Makes me want to go out and start writing again myself although I doubt it’ll be as deep as what you just wrote.

    Just remember that you have to do what makes you happy and what is going to be most rewarding to yourself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

